Megg’s Sunday Brunch

http://www.meggs-cafe.com/index.php

My cup of coffee and long-stemmed mimosa glass frame a plate of eggs smothered in holandaise sauce over an English muffin and Canadian bacon with a side of seasoned potatoes. Even though it’s noon, I’ve only been awake for an hour. It’s my kind of Sunday, and I can’t think of anything better than a delicious brunch.

Honestly, Megg’s Cafe came as a welcomed surprise when I moved to Temple. Rocking vibes of local, fresh, and organic, the restaurant reminds more of the hipster tendencies of the city’s southern neighbor, Austin, than of the fare offered at other joints around town.

In December 2011, it made Texas Monthly’s top 40 list of the best places to breakfast in the state. Obviously, I am obsessed with the eggs Benedict ($9.50), but they also serve other favorites like omelettes, pancakes and oatmeal. Prices range from $6 to $11 per plate.

Brunch is served from 11 to 3, but I suggest arriving early and with patience as there can be quite a wait. In fact, the popularity of Megg’s would be my only complaint as the cafe tends to fill to capacity on Sundays. If you don’t have the time to dine-in, the Hamilton Bread Company offers fresh goods right inside the front door.

Try to spot me when you finally go check it out. I’d be the girl with wet hair, bleary eyes and death grip on my coffee cup. And be sure to post your review of Megg’s below!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

